First Day of May

Happy first day of May. It’s an overcast morning here, but the sun is starting to peak through.

We did a lot of spring cleaning this weekend. We are trying to get the nursery ready and that means tearing apart our current office. We are also cleaning out our basement/bonus room to turn into the new office. Between that, being pregnant, and herding a toddler, I’m pretty tired.

I have revised my picture book “Elsie Goes To Work” so much it’s hardly recognizable. I think it’s almost ready to be pitched to editors and agents. I just need to send it and stop messing with it, but I also want it to be as perfect as I can make it. I think this is a constant battle for artists, the ever-present question of: when is your project (baby) ready to leave your hands?

I’m a few pages away from finishing “Masters and Beginners” (Volume 1 of The Order of the Twelve Tribes) by Daley Downing – book review coming soon. *Spoiler alert: I highly recommend it.* If you would like to purchase a copy to participate in the discussion you may do so here.

Other than that I’m just looking forward to the farmer’s market opening this Thursday and watching my garden and my family flourish.

Have a great week.

-Rachel

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

11 thoughts on “First Day of May”

    1. Trying to make room is always tough. At least with baby 2 I know she really just needs a place to sleep and me. With my son I was so worried about everyTHING and being “prepared”.

      Like

      1. I think too many first-time parents fall into that trap. Honestly, your child will not be in therapy until they’re 40 if they don’t have a musical mobile or a white noise machine as an infant. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hey Rachel, sounds like you’ve got a LOT going on! Your positive outlook and good spirit will see you through. Glad to hear that you’re ready to take the plunge with the book. Good for you. What a journey! I wish you guys the best with the nursery prep. How is son feeling about having a little sister?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Paul, I’ll make sure to let you guts know when I actually send the manuscript out.
      I don’t think Leif understands that he is getting a little sister lol. I imagine he will be shocked. We’ve read books about new siblings and being an older brother but I think he’s too young to put it all together – poor bug.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments

