FriYAY Status Update

Hi Friends,

I’ve been very engrossed in the two picture books that I’m currently revising. I’ve felt such passion and enthusiasm for these two manuscripts. I entered them both into a Twitter event (#PBpitch). I didn’t get any likes or *hearts* from agents or editors but that’s okay. It was still really fun and writing those pitches really helped me to understand what these two stories are about. I also got to see some really great pitches and ideas.

If you don’t follow me on Twitter at @Rachel__McKee here are the pitches that went out yesterday.

Elsie Goes To Work

Pitch: When Elsie agreed to work at a plant nursery for a rosebush of her own, she didn’t know mud-battles & worm-wrangling were involved.

Mrs. Irish’s Enchanted Cottage

Pitch: When Mrs. Irish’s sneezes throw her magic into chaos, Anna & her brother must find the cure inside her enchanted cottage.

That’s where I’m at with my writing in a nutshell.

In other news I chopped 8 inches off of my hair and donated it.

 

 

Have a great weekend!

-Rachel McKee

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

8 thoughts on “FriYAY Status Update”

  1. Is that the same Elsie that you introduced to us a few weeks ago? The one who couldn’t wait to grow up and work her butt off? How cute! Wishing you luck with the publishers.
    And what lovely hair you have, I’m sure you could model for Pantene or something if you wanted to… What would they do with your donated hair? 🤓

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jolene! You are so sweet! They will use my hair to make wigs for people who have lost their hair due to medical reasons. I can’t remember the name of the organization. My best friend owns a hair salon, she is a great stylist!

      That is the same Elsie, but I’ve revised the story quite a bit. Same principle though!😄
      I thought this next book woukd feature Elsie as well, but it didn’t feel right. Anna is different. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a great cause… yea I should have donated my hair too then… Used to have waist-length hair and chopped it all off 5 years ago when I changed jobs. You should introduce us to Anna one day 😁

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Locks of Love or something like that? Definitely a noble cause; laugh if you must but I used to have shoulder-length hair. I just got tired of taking care of it and hacked it off and donated the rest. I don’t really miss my hair truth be told (probably won’t do long hair again personally) but I hope that what used to be my hair made someone happy.

    Anyway, good luck with your picture books! I know the literary world is like a dog-eat-dog sort of thing so here’s hoping you crack through the ceiling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lynn. I can’t remember the name of the organization, but yes, something similar to locks of love. I hope someone enjoys my hair. 🙂
      Thank you for sending luck. I know I’ll need it. The publishing/writing world is rough!!!

      Like

Comments

