Geeking Out Over Titles: Shall We?

Does a great title make your heart say , “Whoopey!” and add sugar to your bloodstream? You are not alone.

I’m a sucker for a great title. Whether it’s the name of a book, blog, or movie, a strong title goes a long way. I agonized over the title of my book for months and I’m still not 100% certain that it will stick.

This post is all about my favorite titles.

What makes a title great? When it makes me wonder, when it prompts questions. Or when it flows or is just beautiful.

Books First (Because Duh!) Favorite Book Titles

The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Esperanza Rising by Pam Muñoz Ryan

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

Autobiography of a Brown Buffalo by Oscar Zeta Acosta

The Call of the Wild by Jack London

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg

Favorite Blog Titles

A Journal For Damned Lovers (Now a book title as well.)

What is a damned lover? What do they write about? I GOTS TO KNOW!

The Invisible Moth

Why can’t I see the moth? How is an invisible moth different from the other (visible) moths?

If Mermaids Wore Suspenders

What if they wore suspenders? And why do I picture them the color red?

The Inked Autist

So specific to his blog, also it just flows so nicely.

Fiction Is Food

I mean yeah, I’m pretty sure I could survive off of books. I’d keep the good ones to read and just eat the bad ones.

Wind Blown Words

Isn’t that just a lovely image. I picture them going POOF! Blowing off the page.

A Note To Hugette

Who is Hugette?! What does the note say?!

*If your blog didn’t make the list of my favorite blog titles don’t feel bad. Mine didn’t make the list either.

Favorite Movie Titles

It’s a Wonderful Life

Steel Magnolias

101 Dalmatians

The Parent Trap

A Beautiful Mind

The Nightmare Before Christmas

There Will Be Blood

The River of No Return

The Best Little Whorehouse In Texas

The Wizard of Oz

*I have a feeling some of these may have been books first. I didn’t research this point too thoroughly but please don’t skewer me in the comments.

I know I’m going to be sitting here after posting this and kicking myself for not adding more amazing titles to my list.

What are some of your favorite titles?

-Rachel McKee

Cover Image Found Here.

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

25 thoughts on “Geeking Out Over Titles: Shall We?”

  1. Oh my gosh, my blog title is among your favorite!!! That was a pleasant surprise! 🙂

    Some of my favorite titles:
    The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
    So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
    The Fifth Elephant
    Fortunately, the Milk
    Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

    And I totally agree about stressing over the title of your own work. I’ve definitely been there!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. This has literally been me trying to decide on book titles: “What about… Oh, yes, that’s brilliant!” 2 minutes later: “No, that sucks, what was I thinking?!”

        Do this about 17 more times.

        Come back to your first decision and type it into your document with a satisfied sigh.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. movies:
    the Good, the Bad and the Ugly.
    Papillion.
    Once Upon a Time in America.
    The Case Is Closed, Forget It.
    ……………….
    Books:
    The Republic of Silence – J.P.Sartre
    Archipelago of another life – Andrei Makine
    War and peace – Leo Tolstoy
    The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
    ………………………..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What an original and wonderful post!!!! One of my favourite book titles is “The Tree That Sat Down”…it is also one of my all-time favourite books. At the other end of the spectrum is, “It”, by Stephen King…sounds as sinister as one imagines…and more! Thanks for sharing your list…very entertaining 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. They say not to judge a book by its cover but I do find a captivating title is essential to pique my interest. That goes for anything – a book, a movie or any art form of the sort. I guess it’s just our nature to do the very thing the saying tells us not to do in a world where we have thousands of titles to choose from.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love this sort of thing, thanks for giving us an outlet! 🙂

    Okay, Book titles:

    The House of the Seven Gables N. Hawthorne
    As I Lay Dying W. Faulkner
    For Whom the Bell Tolls E. Hemingway
    Lord Jim J. Conrad
    Bleak House C. Dickens
    The Sound of the Mountain Y. Kawabata
    Dracula B. Stoker
    The House of Mirth E. Wharton
    Their Eyes Were Watching God Z. Hurston
    The Portrait of a Lady H. James
    The Magic Mountain T. Mann
    Pride and Prejudice J. Austen
    The Woman in White W. Collins
    The Good Earth P. Buck
    The Secret Life of Bees S. Kidd
    The Girl on the Train P. Hawkins

    Whew! Okay, I’m done. OMG! I think I’ll probably remember five more that I wish I had put on my list. There are so many great titles out there.

    Of course I still believe the Greatest Title ever is Shakespeare’s magnificent comedy. A MIDSUMMERS NIGHT EVE. I don’t think there’s a title out there that can beat that one. It’s perfect.:-)

    Thank you so much Rachel. Oh, that was fun! I’ve had a tough day and this made everything disappear! :-)))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy to see other people who love titles as much as I do! I completely forgot about “As I Lay Dying!” Thank you for bringing it back to me! Shakespeare knew exactly what he was doing! I agree A Midsummer Night’s Dream is just one of THE best! Yay! So glad other people are playing along!!!😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dream! Sigh. Isn’t that sad? I extol Shakespeare’s title then type it in wrong! 😦

        But thank you for the wonderful reply. It was a fun post as well as interesting to see what other titles surface. We sort of reveal ourselves in this manner. Ol’ traditional me…lists canonical stuff. Of course that old literary gang does have some great titles.

        Oh, I might add. I think Sadako and I flew over your house yesterday! (Aren’t you in the North east somewhere?) Of course we were over six miles high. Yep. We left DFW and flew over North West America. And now, fourteen hours later, we’re in Japan! At this moment, in Tokyo where we’re gonna meet friends and check out a few places before heading over to Osaka where Sadako’s mother lives. I’ll be posting a few pictures sometime during the week. We’re here for two weeks.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. A slow smile came over my face as I read my blog name on your list – I wanted a title that would convey a hint of mystery and invite questions like yours! I am drawn to unique titles that almost tell a story themselves, titles like: The Secret Garden, the above mentioned, The Girl on the Train and The Chronicles of Narnia and another fab series, The Chronicles of Amber. Right now, I’m immersed in the Harry Potter series (I’m reading them for the first time after seeing the films many times over!, I’m almost finished the third book and the titles have added to the pleasure!). What a fun post, it brightened my day!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

