Picture Pick FriYAY: Bookstore

Upper Case Book Shop Snohomish

I visited a cute bookstore in Snohomish, Washington yesterday called Upper Case Book Shop. I love bookstores. (Shocking!) The air hums and vibrates with the power from hundreds of books. Now that I’m writing my own book, I’m amazed by how many manuscripts actually make it to the book store. Writing a book is an enormous endeavor and then actually selling your book is an entirely different mountain to climb.

Harry Potter Bookshelf

I like to envision my manuscript making it to the shelves. Will I ever see it there? Guess I’ll have to keep writing and find out.

Book in bridcage

Sometimes I feel so close to making my dream come true. Then dark thoughts cloud my mind and I wonder if I’m living in a fantasy.

dsc_4777

Bookstores inspire me. So many authors have made it happen, surely I can too.

Page Chandalier

There is no time like the present. So I’ll keep writing. I’ll keep editing. I’ll keep dreaming of walking past a bookstore and seeing my book on their shelf.

clocks

I’d love to hear about your greatest dreams. Please comment below if you’d like to share. Sometimes saying your dreams outloud or even just writing them down is powerful visulaization.

Happy FriYAY!

-Rachel McKee

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

25 thoughts on “Picture Pick FriYAY: Bookstore”

  1. Is that your dog waiting outside? ๐Ÿ™‚

    This looks like the kind of bookshop I’d announce I’m never leaving, just bring me the occasional latte and veggie lasanga.

    You’re right, don’t give up on your dreams. They take a lot more work than some people realize, but it’s worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s important to let dreams come and go as they will. After all, the most certain way of knowing you’re about to surface from a dream is the last-ditch attempt to hold it firmly and not let it slip away. So many important shifts in my life occurred because I heard what my mind (my dreams, if you will) was telling me and started fumbling towards the goal they suggested to my conscious self. Your dream is achievable because you nurture it with your conscious mind. Mine did the same. Best of luck, MSOC

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I really like your comment. There have been so many times where I felt myself giving up and then some (stubborn) part of myself, that I didn’t know existed clung on. Just like that my passion was refueled and I go on to write another 10k words.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Been awhile since I’ve been in one admittedly. Here all we have are big national chains. Wish we had some more local options.

    Anyway, I think I’ve told the story of my dream before but I’ll tell it again (and not for sympathy but just to tell). My dream is to be an airline pilot. It’s a long, treacherous road and a relatively unstable career but it has always been my dream. Unfortunately for me it is unattainable. People on the autism spectrum are automatically disqualified from flying in any capacity.

    I hope that changes one day but I don’t look for it in my lifetime. It’s been difficult to try to move on from that but it hurts nonetheless.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love bookstores, especially the small ones. I even love to look at pictures of them! And these pics are great…thank you!
    You know, when I go into BAM here in Decatur, I have the same feelings you mention. There are SO MANY books…how can I even think to make a dint in this mess? It’s almost laughable. I tend to speed up as I pass row after row of books. Every now and then I go in to get a Writer’s Magazine. sigh. BUT, when I get back home and get to work on my own WIP, I forget about the millions of “other” books and I’m positive, once again, MY book will be out there someday.

    And yours too, Rachel! Ha! We have to believe. ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, back to work.

    Wonderful post, thanks.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Excellent post! Made me reminisce about my childhood dream to have a “book bar”, which to my mind is really a cross between a library and a warmly decked out cafe like the one here…
    Good luck with your manuscript, hopefully not too long to go!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There’s something about the small neighborhood bookstore that seems to foster creativity. Maybe it’s the atmosphere of being surrounded by books and the smell of coffee (places that have both, my goodness me – and I’m fortunate enough to live near one that’s like that). Some of my better work (in my blog or in my research) was done in places like that.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

