40,000 Words Deep

I finally made it to my next 10k word milestone. I finished my first draft and powered through beginning to end. I created the skeleton of a novel. Going through the first edit I cut thousands of words, but then added thousands more. Now my story has the bones and a few ligaments. And most important, it has heart.

I hope my skeleton/book analogy made sense. I’m running on caffeine right now. With Miles working over time, that means I work overtime.

Back to writing/reading/entertaining/playing/tucking in/tucking in again.

Have a great night you guys.♥

-Rachel McKee

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

26 thoughts on “40,000 Words Deep”

      1. I find it helps to be reminded when you still have a ways to go to look at how far you’ve come. Often times that’s all it takes to realize you can make it to the end. 40K words is no small feat.

        You got this.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Whoa! 40K–that’s incredibly impressive. Of course you worked and worked and worked. It sounds as if you’re moving in the best direction–first, get it down on paper. You’ve chiseled out the form, now for the detail. Congratulations Rachel.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Why thank you and thank you! Well, I’ve got a story still out there…it’s a waiting game. sigh. My novel is up to 27K and moving right along. I’ve been at it all afternoon and probably this evening as well. So, to be truthful, it’s such a good feeling to hear a writer (meaning you!) is, well, writing! We often hear so much about folks “not” writing that it becomes an active impediment to our own creative progress. At any rate, I had thought about you earlier to the effect that I was amazed that you get as much work done as you do. You are a devoted parent, loving wife, active woman, and still you get the writing done. It’s inspiring! and now, after reading your thoughtful response, back to writing! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your perseverance girl! How long did it take you to reach that milestone?? Do you have an idea of how many more to go or do you just see where your thoughts take you? Anyhow you are making amazing inroads🎉🍾

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jolene! I think it’s been about 5 months, but I’d have to double check. I’m still adding a lot of content during this second edit. I’m interested to see where my final word count ends. Thank you for following and encouraging me. 💕

      Liked by 1 person

Comments

