Top 10 Titles for Toddlers (Chosen By My Toddler)

Have you ever been shopping for a baby shower or a first birthday and thought to yourself, I want to buy the little one a book, but which one? Fortunately there are thousands of baby books out there, but my son will tell you, not all children’s books are created equal. Children are fickle, but no with their literature. My son is loyal to his favorite titles. He carries them around with him, and flips through their pages repetitiously. He implores me to read these books over and over again.

A toddler will also let you know quickly if the book is not his cup of milk. Mine will turn on his diapered bum and ignore me if I read him a story that is not from his “favorite” list.

Here are ten children’s books that have been proven tried and true by my toddler.

  1. “A Baby Is Born” by Melanie Zanoza bartelme (Author), Steve Whitlow (Illustrator)
  2. “Little Owl’s 1 2 3” by Divya Srinivasan (Author, Illustrator)
  3. “Red Truck” by Kersten Hamilton (Author) Valeria Petrone (Illustrator)
  4. Moby Dick: A BabyLit® Ocean Primer (BabyLit Books) by Jennifer Adams (Author) Alison Oliver (Illustrator)
  5. “On The Night You Were Born” by Nancy Tillman (Author, Illustrator)
  6. “Barnyard Dance” by Sandra Boynton (Author, Illustrator)
  7. “How Do I Love You?” by  P. K. Hallinan (Author, Illustrator)
  8. “Little Blue Truck” Alice Schertle (Author) Jill McElmurry (Illustrator)
  9. “In My Jungle” Sara Gillingham (Author) Lorena Siminovich (Illustrator)
  10.  “I Love You Through and Through” by Bernadette Rossetti Shustak (Author) and Caroline Jayne Church (Illustrator)

The best part about this list, is that you can find all of these books on Amazon. I hope this makes baby shopping a little easier for you.

Love & Cheers,

Rachel McKee

 

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

16 thoughts on “Top 10 Titles for Toddlers (Chosen By My Toddler)”

  1. I have no kids of my own and never will but I remember when I was a kid I absolutely adored the Eric Carle series (The Grouchy Ladybug, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, etc.) and also a lot of the Maurice Sendak books (Chicken Soup with Rice was a big favorite of mine).

    I have a 1 year old nephew so surely I’ll be handing some of my books off to him.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I find that Emma ignored everything I read to her. Of course, she’s a cat and about to turn 12, so perhaps I missed the window. If I had just started reading to her at an earlier age, perhaps she would feign interest in what my reassuring growl of a voice had to say.
    On another note, just be happy that you did not have an aunt like mine, who thought that it would be beneficial if I were to have a copy of Struwwelpeter (you can read all the “nursery rhymes” here: http://germanstories.vcu.edu/struwwel/petereng.html). The joke was on her… two-fold: (1) it was a horrible little book so, being a male child, I found it very cool and (2) the author was a German writer who was actually poking fun at the many prescriptive books appearing around the time he wrote it, all promoting themselves as beneficial, in some way, to improving children’s behavior and morality.
    Kind regards, MSOC

    Liked by 1 person

      1. As the gender-inappropriate nursery rhyme says:
        “What are little boys made of?
        What are little boys made of?
        Snips and snails
        And puppy-dogs’ tails
        That’s what little boys are made of.”
        We are all a sum of our experiences. Perhaps I was scarred but it must have been in a good way as these just seemed like crazy stories, even back then 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Comments

