30,000 Words Deep

Ariel Painting

I reached 30k words on my YA story last night. Every time I hit another 10k word milestone, I think to myself, there’s no way I can write another 10k words, then, somehow, I do.

Fun/Frustrating Fact: My poor book still does not have a name, (a book has no name, the book who shall remain nameless).

You guys, writing a book is hard. It is the most mentally challenging thing I have ever done. Every day I call myself crazy for even trying. I get overwhelmed by plot details, and maintaining realistic dialogue. Every day I give up. But after my son is tucked in for the night, and I pass the office next to his room, my computer glows and beckons me to write and I answer its call. I turn off my inner dialogue and I write.

girl typing computer glow

I write exactly how I see each scene unfolding. I picture the characters and how they look, their gestures, mannerisms. I’m constantly asking myself, how do they feel, and what do they want right now?Β I worry about the “what ifs” when I finally lay my head down to sleep, I worry about them when I clean the sink, or when I cook dinner. I don’t allow the overwhelming fear of failure to creep in when I’m writing.

You guys play a crucial role in my motivation. Your kind words of encouragement and motivation give me the kick that I need to keep going. The beautiful stories you share on your blogs inspire me, and chatting with you in the comments section gives me community. For that, I am forever grateful.

I’ve talked this darn book up so much, I don’t want to be the chump that doesn’t finish.

Love and Cheers,

-Rachel McKee

COVER IMAGE FOUND HERE.

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

53 thoughts on “30,000 Words Deep”

  1. Congratulations!!! It’s a great achievement for the writers (though non writers never understand it 😣)
    I was laughing when I read that you haven’t named your book yet for the fact that I am not the only one…πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    Keep inspiring, thanks a lot!
    😊😊😊

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh no I don’t mind I love talking books,it’s YA. I have a post in my archives called 100 Followers and Something New that has a video explaining a little more about my book. How about you? What is your genre?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s a mix of MG AND YA… I love talking about fantasy books too… Though I love others too…
        I will surely check that post, it’s really nice talking with you… 😊😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

    1. “I write exactly how I see each scene unfolding.”
      I love this part when we move forward with our characters… And the best part is when they surprise by doing something awesome (even though you know it was your idea but you keep on thanking them for their actions and dialogues…)
      πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Good for you Rachel! It sounds like this book of yours really wants to be written, a story that wishes to be told, and hence to be read. I applaud your dedication. Keep it going and regarding the title. It may be–and this is a suggestion–the title is already there…in the draft. For now I wouldn’t worry about it, but when you start reading over written material, keep your mind open for that special three letter phrase, or two or four…what the hell… just keep looking and you’ll find it. Maybe that’s why nothing is coming to you…it’s already there, waiting for you to find it. Maybe. Just keep writing.
    Great post. And inspiring for me that’s for sure!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hi Paul, I love your idea about finding the title in the draft. I think in my heart, that’s what I’m hoping will happen. Thank you for the motivation and your kind words. I know I’m a self- proclaimed writer, but can anyone truly express their depth of gratitude?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. By writing. Just keep going. That’s all any of us have to do…but oh, how lonely sometimes that task can be. There you are at one in the morning, writing away, and only you can do this. Only you. We urge each other forward as best we can it seems. When I read how someone sits in their study, working diligently, often with aching eyes…it gives me hope. I really mean that. So! Keep writing and keep posting about writing! I definitely look forward to your posts.

        Liked by 2 people

      1. I wish. That hasn’t crossed my mind. My main concern is finishing it. I don’t even know how long the book will be. I also don’t know any places to publish it at. I could go the self publishing route. Thanks for asking.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Well done Rachel! I worry about my WIP too. At the moment I’m at the climax. I’m worried that the climax won’t be big enough (worried about it in the shower, I’m worrying about it now – worry, worry, worry!). I need to research how to make a good climax. I too have difficulty about naming a book. I’m sure it will appear when you least expect it (I’ve changed mine twice!)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m the opposite! I have a title and my first sentence or two – they exist in my head at the moment but as I read more blogs by other writers, my female character is letting me know she is ready for business! Keep up the good work – that title will come!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for the encouragement! It’s funny the pieces of our writing that bring us inspiration. For you its the title and first two sentences, for me it was one character and a particular scene. I hope we can read each other’s stories one day.πŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would really like that! I just picked up a YA book by Elizabeth May called,’The Falconer’ and was so intrigued I checked out her website, it’s very inspiring! My potential book will be a YA fantasy if I find the courage to write that first word!!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Yeah, titles can be hard… And you’re not the only one to wake up at 3 am wondering about changing a plot point/character decision/setting/motivation/character’s dog’s nickname. The important thing is to keep going, and not let it drag you down. Best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I only write my rough drafts by hand anymore… Screen burnout isn’t in my plans… Plus for me it works better to arrange my thoughts on paper… There’s something about literally watching the words form a story as I handle the pen.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s generally the only way I can get anything substantial written – we’re down to one computer in my house, with 3 people trying to use it, and a grumpy small child who demands a lot of attention, and is not allowed near the computer (because of his desire to yank on cords and press buttons)…

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Finally watched the video you posted for your 100 followers πŸ˜€ you’re front porch is AMAZING!!!!! Jeezus it’s beautiful.
    I’m so excited for you that you’ve reached 30,000 words on your book! I can’t imagine how much stress and how many hours have gone into your book so far. I feel proud because I know how hard you must be working. It must also be pretty nerve wrecking. I adore what you’re doing πŸ™‚ I certainly don’t think I could do it. I hope you don’t ever doubt yourself πŸ™‚ and if you do, just remember we’re all cheering you all the time! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww thank you so much for watching my video. My husband built our patio and moved tons of material. Every time I sit there, I think of his hard work. Thank you for your encouragement and faith in my writing, it’s soul fuel.

      Like

Comments

