One Year

You kicked and squirmed, I shifted uncomfortably and smiled at my big belly.

I sweat, I cried, I pushed, you pulled.

I squeezed my eyes and clenched my teeth, you saw the light for the first time.

We saw each other and we cried.

I pulled you close and you held on tight.

I talked, you nuzzleddrinking your fill.

You cried the first night, I was weak, Daddy’s arms were strong.

I learned, you taught, we got to know each other.

You needed me, I needed sleep, we were tired.

You laughed, and I understood pure joy.

You rolled over and turned my world upside down.

On all fours you moved away from me, and I scrambled to catch up.

In a high-pitch voice you said “Mama” and I came running.

You looked for “Dada” to come home, and I was just as eager.

You pulled yourself up, and I caught you when you fell (almost always).

You went to sleep a baby and woke up a toddler.

You are one. You are smart. You are sweet. You are brave, and we love you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

23 thoughts on “One Year”

  1. You have a July baby as well! Mine is going to turn twenty-one next week, so you can well imagine her reaction to ‘baby’! 😀
    Shower your little one with a million kisses and take time to pamper yourself as well, for it’s your day as much as it is his. Happy birthday! ❤ Stay blessed!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. That was a beautiful depiction off the first year! My baby will be a senior in high school this coming year. I know I will be blogging on, where did the time go? Enjoy every moment, for each stage, is precious!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

