Incandescent

“Heaven is not always up there, fools, look in different directions as well. Heaven is here and everywhere.”

From the blog “speaking up for myself”. #WritingGoals

Speaking Up for Myself

Mother, it begins with a throb and I know it is time.

I stand among the folds of my flowing garments, deep blue like still waters, edged with glittering froth.

The bells I tie to my ankles are your silver anklets.

Kohl lines my eyes, my lips are stained red with betel leaves.

The beats approach, louder and faster. It is time, they come for me.

Unhurried, I light every lamp in the temple courtyard. Beginning from the lowest of all- the thousandth step.

The forest around lies dark, even forbidding. Watchful eyes follow me as I go up, step after step, lighting the lamps at the sides of each. I know no fear.

When I reach the thousandth step, on top, I turn back to look at a glorious pathway winding downward to heaven.

I give a knowing smile at all those blind to truth, who dare differ.

Heaven…

View original post 434 more words

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

5 thoughts on “Incandescent”

    1. Hi, I’ve had a few pieces published on a lifestyle website called xoNecole. This incredible piece is from a wonderful blog that I follow called “speaking up for myself”. I highly recommend you check out Sailaja’s blog, she is a very talented writer. I greatly enjoy her writing as you can see.😆

      Liked by 1 person

Comments

