The Ones That Stay

The Ones That Stay

While you were gone, working your 9-5, our blue-collar-town changed. People smiled, talked, engaged. Movement slowed, tension reducedWe are the ones that stayed.

I used to go.

My body in a suit of automobile armor, leaving home before the sun came up. I engaged the commute war.

I drove quickly past wild flowersI didn’t see them. The air conditioning blasted. The heated, wild roses of summerI didn’t smell them. I could not hear the bird’s song over radio advertisement. I was not anywhere. I was everywhere.

Now I stay.

My heartbeat pulses to the rhythm of community. I recognize faces—Happy exchanges. We enjoy our town, we share this space.

We stay.

♥R♥

PHOTO COURTESY: MILES MCKEE PHOTOGRAPHY

 

 

 

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

Comments

