Picture Pick Fri-yay & 50th Post

Ok so here is the deal with Picture Pick Fri-yay. My husband Miles is an amazing photographer (I’m biased yes) but for real he is awesome. He has files upon files of incredible photos that just live there buried in our computer. So I want to share some of them with you guys-thus Picture Pick Fri-yay. Get ready, this is going to be “a thing” every Friday. I’m going to share some pictures that documents a moment/event in our livestrivial or major. Also this post is my 50th post, so it seems fitting to try something new. This week’s photos are less about quality and more about what they captured: Chaos and lots of praying to sweet baby Jesus that our house didn’t flood.

The Flood of 2015

It’s hard to believe on this beautiful sunny day here in Washington that our front yard  looked like this:

DSC_1245

OMG right?  Those are boats that floated out of our neighbor’s yards upriver. (Please ignore the leopard rain boots.)

We are fortunate to live with a beautiful river in our backyard, but every once in awhile that decision can bite us in the ass. DSC_1237

There I am at the bank of the river (our backyard). Luckily the river did not go over the bank, but it did flood up river. Which is why we had so much water in the yard.

DSC_1264

Yep, our house was an island. We were blessed that we didn’t get any water in the house. When I look at these photos it makes me a little bit nauseous. Every winter we hold our breath that the water doesn’t rise.

So that’s Picture Pick Fri-yay: short, sweet, and visual. What do you guys think of this new ritual to my blog?

Also, thanks for providing the pictures Miles!

Happy Fri-yay!

♥R♥

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

2 thoughts on “Picture Pick Fri-yay & 50th Post”

Comments

