Rejection: It Stings, Burns, and Finally Heals

 

rejection

 

First off, sorry for any typos, I’m writing on my phone and that is a grammar disaster for me.

I received a formal rejection from an editor today. I took a “writing” test for a regular contributor role that took me days to complete. I put time, work, and emotion into this test and was told, “No.”. Ouch, it hurt, it STILL hurts even though I knew it was coming. It took weeks to hear back (never good in the writing biz).

When I heard “No.” I wanted to quit writing….then I wanted to write about it. Because rejection hurts, but writing heals. I WILL NOT allow this defeat to take the joy out of my writing.

Thank you for reading and listening.
♡R

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

8 thoughts on “Rejection: It Stings, Burns, and Finally Heals”

    1. I understand, it really does hurt…but that pain goes away. By not pursuing your dreams you are hurting yourself every day. I’ve learned that some rejection is harder than others, but eventually it doesn’t phase you as much. I really hope you start pursuing your dreams!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is so true! We may all face rejection throughout our lives, and it hurts, but I think that it is to let us know that there may be other opportunities somewhere else for us, to keep yourself up and improving.

    Like

Comments

