Snoqualmie Falls: An Introduction

Hello, happy Sunday.

My name is Miles and I am Rachel’s husband. Some of my images are featured on illuminated literation, so I thought I would introduce myself and let you know that I will be posting here on occasion to showcase pictures with short descriptions and the techniques involved.

Here are some images from Snoqualmie Falls, WA on Easter weekend. It was mid-morning on a bright sunny day and I was battling high contrast. I decided to shoot ISO 100 and RAW format to allow for maximum manipulation of shadows in post-processing. The featured image is a high dynamic range (HDR) image, blending three different exposures to optimize color tones in all areas of shadows and highlights. I normally try to “get it right in camera” but our eyes/brains have such an amazing ability to register a high degree of contrast, that sometimes to capture the scene as I remember it, the HDR technique is necessary.

DSC_2853
Rachel and Leif at the mid-observation deck.   f/5   1/160   iso 100 nikon d750
DSC_2858
Sort of an abstract composition of an old power turbine.  f/4.5  1/500  iso 100  d750
DSC_2859
Penstock leading to turbines.  f/4.5  1/125  iso 100 d750
DSC_2866
Lower boardwalk viewing of the falls.  f/8  1/125  iso 100 d750
5 thoughts on “Snoqualmie Falls: An Introduction”

  1. Hello Miles, it’s nice to meet you. I enjoy Rachael’s posts very much, so it’s nice to meet the man behind the photos that she often shares. I must admit that I don’t understand a thing you were writing about, technique-wise, but I did enjoy the photos of the falls. Whatever you did worked well!
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

