Washington Gray Days

I live in the beautiful state of perpetual gray (Washington). I love my home state; I don’t mind the gray months (November-March). I love walks in the rain and reading a book while it gently mists outside. I appreciate the peek-a-boo blue skies. The smell of damp spring is heady and potent this time of year. A composition of hyacinth, tulips, dirt, pine, and rain.

How does spring feel where you live?

Photo credit: Miles McKee Photography

♥R♥

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

9 thoughts on “Washington Gray Days”

  1. Ha! That’s funny the “ugly” side. I haven’t spent too much time in Eastern, Wa. We went to Walla Walla a couple years ago to do some wine tasting. We normally only go so far as the Methow Valley for vacations. I am partial to the water as well as the mountains. That said, I do love the dry hot weather in Eastern, Wa. Our state has such a diverse climate, it’s great.

    Like

  2. In Ohio it smells fresh. Some folks have started mowing their lawns, and freshly-cut grass is a heavenly scent to me. All of the flowers are in bloom now. However, our rainy season just started today, with a cold front moving through, that will probably kill all of the pretty flowers. But our seasons are always unusual, and those flowers will be back in May, just as beautiful and vibrant as can be. The main flowers that people grow here are tulips, daffodils, purple somethings (can’t remember what they are called), and a few roses. Mainly tulips.

    Btw, I love your featured photo! However did your hubby make those flowers look upside? ARE they upside down?

    Have a good week, Rachael 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Melissa, wow spring in Ohio sounds unique and wonderful. The daffodil fields that were featured a few posts back are now acres upon acres of tulips. People go nuts here for those tulip fields! They sure are gorgeous. The tulips in the photo are actually a reflection in a puddle. Pretty cool huh? Miles has a fantastic eye for perspective and angles. He took that photo about 6 (?) Years ago, the same field as previously mentioned. Thank you for reading Melissa😆.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments

