Revisiting My First Two Loves: Short Non-Fiction & The Football Player

My extremely talented writer friend Danielle Campoamor posted on Facebook that she was looking for some short stories about the moment you found out that someone was cheating. She is compiling these stories into what I am anticipating to be a great read. I emailed her the following story and I told her whether is it used in the piece or not, it was a wonderful writing prompt.

Thanks Girl.

My First Lesson in Cheating

Even after all these years when I look back on this memory I want to wrap my arms around my 15 year old self and say “You are better than their ugly words.” Because gossip and cheating go hand-in-hand in high school.

My first love was a senior, a football player, popular, and everything the stereotypical first love should be. Unfortunately this plain Jane book worm couldn’t keep up with him and he lost interest after a few months when a beautiful cheerleader caught his eye.

The first time I heard about the new romance between my football player and the cheerleader was in the cafeteria. I walked past a table of boys to get to the soda machine, I like to think they didn’t know I was there so their malicious talk was a little less cruel. One boy said very loudly and clearly, “I would ditch Rachel for (said cheerleader) she is so much hotter! Rachel is alright, but pretty average and kinda boring. I would make the same move as (said football player) did.”

I swear to God my heart stopped beating. I left my money in the vending machine without my soda so I could sneak quietly away. Their words echoing in my ears. How dare they judge the value of everything we shared off of my looks! How could they cheer him on and justify his betrayal simply because She was more beautiful?

I crumpled in a quiet hallway and cried through my Science class.

Looking back now, I see the naivete in myself and the foolish importance of superficial beauty that the young find so meaningful.

Update: Danielle used my story in her article. Yay! Read the full article here.

 

 

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

1 thought on “Revisiting My First Two Loves: Short Non-Fiction & The Football Player”

Comments

