My Inspiration

I am writing a novel (which I don’t have a title for at the moment) because the characters are begging to tell their story. I have known my main character for two years now, and I must say Brian has been patiently waiting for me to begin. Why the name Brian? Well I guess now is a good time to share my inspirations.

I was CRAZY about this novel as a kid. I had no idea what Brian looked like, but I knew that I loved him. Brian was my first literary crush (I must admit I have probably had 100 since then). I admired his perseverance and determination. My Brian has similar attributes to Gary Paulsen’s, but mine will have a fierce character attribute that proves necessary when violent choices have to be made.

 Also, my story will be one of survival as well.

As for the heroine in my story (Sophia) I would like her to have a tough spirit as well. She will at first come off as a Cher from Clueless (as if!) and later transform into young woman you can actually admire, think Katniss Everdeen.

                                                                              +

This combo will prove interesting, I just hope in a good way.

The villain who I hate already, is a mix between Nils Bjurma from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and back country, ignorant asshole.

                                                                                 
      So that’s in on characters for now. Thank you for reading!

Author: Rachel McKee

Currently writing a YA novel. I love reading about everything, truly I'm not a book snob. Lately I have been "reading" a lot of picture books to my baby boy. In my past life before motherhood, I was a professional technical editor and writer.

Comments

